Congressional Scorecard and Legislative List for the 118th Congress (2023 – 2025) – Pro-Horse Industry Bills for Inclusion as a Factor in the Legislative Score

“Find out who our friends are on Capitol Hill”


The American Horse Council (AHC) regularly identifies legislation that supports and earns consensus within our diverse membership. This is a non-partisan process. Only proposals that have earned consensus among our members are tabulated.

Issue areas that unite the sector include, but are not limited to, animal welfare under the Horse Protection Act (HPA), labor flexibility, tax flexibility, public land access, budgetary resources to promote equine programs, and other measures that may emerge during the 118th Congress which runs through January of 2025.

AHC assigns points based on a lawmaker’s degree of support for these “priority bills” as listed below. From this point system, a list of “industry champions” will emerge to inform members of the horse industry which incumbents should be recognized and acknowledged for their support of the equine industry.

  • 1) “Original” co-sponsor, aka “champion,” of priority bills
  • 2) Co-sponsorship of priority bills
  • 3) Membership in the Congressional Horse Caucus
  • 4) Chairmanship role in the Congressional Horse Caucus
  • 5) “Visibility” of the lawmaker, or participation in AHC events
  • 6) Demonstrates a general “open door” policy for the horse industry
  • Two
  • One
  • One
  • Two
  • One point per event
  • One

While the scorecard will not formally assign points for representation of the “Top Ten” states by equine population, AHC will track delegations from the “top ten.”  This includes:

  1. Texas
  2. California
  3. Florida
  4. Ohio
  5. Oklahoma
  6. Kentucky
  7. Pennsylvania
  8. Missouri
  9. Michigan
  10. Colorado
Prevent All Soring TacticsS. 4004IntroducedSenator Mark Warner (D-VA)
Senator Mike Crapo (R-ID)
Personal Health Investment Today Act of 2023 or the PHIT Act of 2023H R 1582IntroducedRep. Mike Kelly (R-PA-16)
Prevent All Soring Tactics Act of 2023 or the PAST Act of 2023H R 3090Introduced Rep. Brian Fitzpatrick (R-PA-1)
Combating Illicit Xylazine ActH R 1839IntroducedRep. Jimmy Panetta (D-CA-19)
Racehorse Tax Parity ActH R 2927IntroducedAndy Barr (R-KY-6)
Race Horse Cost Recovery Act of 2023H R 2296IntroducedAndy Barr (R-KY-6)
Family Farm and Small Business Exemption ActH R 1250Introduced Rep. Tracey Mann (R-KS-1)
Recognizing the importance of stepped-up basis under section 1014 of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986 in preserving family-owned farms and small businesses.H Res 237IntroducedRep. Tracey Mann (R-KS-1)
Death Tax Repeal Act of 2023S 1108Introduced Senator John Thune (R-SD)
Personal Health Investment Today Act of 2023 or the PHIT Act of 2023S 786IntroducedSenator John Thune (R-SD)
Combating Illicit Xylazine ActS 993IntroducedSenator Catherine Cortez Masto (D-NV)
America’s Outdoor Recreation Act of 2023*

*S873 will serve as an omnibus for related bills. Additional co-sponsors will be added.

S 873IntroducedSenator Joe Manchin (D-WV)

Senate “Champions”

Senator Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV)

Senator Amy Klobuchar (D-MN)

Senator Roger Marshall (R-KS)

Senator John Thune (R-SD)

Senator Mike Crapo (R-ID)

Senator Kristen Gillibrand (D-NY)

Senator Thom Tillis (R-NC)

Senator Roger Wicker (R-MS)


Representative Don Bacon (R-NE-2)

Representative Andy Barr (R-KY-6)

Representative Jimmy Panetta (D-CA-19)

Representative Dan Meuser (R-PA-9)

Representative Angie Craig (D-MN-2)

Representative Brian Fitzpatrick (R-PA-1)

Representative Frank Lucas (R-OK-3)

Representative Lisa McClain (R-MI-9)

Representative Morgan McGarvey (D-KY-3)

Representative Mary Miller (R-IL-15)